National Waffle Day

waffles

Happy Monday, guys!

Today the hubba-dubba informed me that today is in fact, National Waffle Day. He also said that since he saw that little fact on the internet, that it has to be true. Which, duh, he’s so right about. Regardless! If somebody declares it a day for waffles, waffles must be eaten. Or in the Wasser household, devoured.

A few years back dear ‘ol Dad gifted me this amazing waffle..maker? iron? …thing. It came with this handy little book that had about 10 different (waffle) recipes in it. And you know what? I lost it. Luckily, my very best internet friend, Pinterest, came to the rescue. BIF Pinterest brought me to this lovely blog (www.theidearoom.net)  which then brought me to this lovely recipe for Blegium Waffles. It’s not exactly a quickie, but when it’s National Waffle Day (maybe),  the waffles being made, served and devoured must be worthy of the breakfast food gods.  And this recipe is.

And here it is! It makes about 8 servings.

*I will admit that I cut out the yeast part and skipped the entire “Wait an hour for the batter to rise and double in size” part. Wait? AN HOUR?! Heck to the no.

Belgium Waffle Recipe

Ingredients:
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons active dry yeast
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 3/4 cups warm milk, divided
  • 3 eggs, divided
  • 3/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 cups all-purpose 
Preparation:

In a small bowl, dissolve the yeast in 1/4 cup warm milk.

(In another bowl) Beat the egg whites just until stiff peaks form.

In a large bowl, mix together the egg yolks, 1/4 cup of the remaining milk, the melted butter and the sugar.

Add the yeast mixture, salt, vanilla, and then alternate between the flour and remaining milk.

Gently fold the egg whites into the waffle batter.

Cover the batter without touching it, and then set it in a warm place to rise until it doubles in volume, about 1 hour. Cook in a waffle iron according to manufacturer’s instructions.

(You can find the original post here: http://www.theidearoom.net/2012/07/belgium-waffles.html)

 

I hope you and yours enjoy them as much as me and mine did. I also help your kitchen doesn’t look as disasterous as mine does.

And now, the hubba-dubba has “Your Highness” playing and James Franco’s humorously accented voice is calling to me. I do believe it is time to rest my waffle-filled tummy, and go claim my spot on the couch next to him.

Goodnight, Never Land!

xoxo
Jackie

One thought on “National Waffle Day

Leave a comment